Compliments of the Season!

It seems hard to find the time to sit down and write about Lagos these days. Sometimes I think it’s because nothing interesting is going on. We work all week, and do things on the weekend, nothing special, nothing out of the ordinary. As we head into the Christmas period, we are a little busier than usual. In fact, we’ve had something going every weekend since November 12, but again, as many of you know, that isn’t unusual. That would also be another reason why I find it hard to sit down and write… there is too much going on.

This Sunday morning I find myself with a bit of time on my hands. Not because I don’t have anything to do, oh no! I just spent an hour and a half in the kitchen, cleaning up after the Christmas party we hosted last night. I’ve got laundry in the machine and the floors are all washed. What I really need to do is pack, as we leave for Canada this weekend. However, my husband is in the bedroom sleeping of the glee of the Christmas party, so I can’t get in there to do what I need to do. I’ll give him a couple of hours, and then send in Phoebe and Laryssa!

So, a brief look at our holiday season. November 12, we went to a barbecue for our friend Baerbel’s birthday; lots of fun, good food, but sorry, no photos! The next night we were treated to a Diwali festival in the gym, put on for teachers by our Indian community.

Diwali 

 

Next up was the American Thanksgiving celebration. We had a potluck dinner on the gym stage for all of the Flat Rats who didn’t travel. It was a great turnout with wonderful food and good company.

Thanksgiving on the gym stage . It was also Movember for the guys, hence the fancy mustaches!

December began with the Breakfast with Santa event that Tracy and I hosted at the GQ this year. 50 children and their parents came out for a special morning of activities and breakfast with the big guy!

Laryssa and I also managed to fit in a trip to the clinic to get her ears pierced that day!

The next day we had our annual Christmas Go-Slow party. (Okay, this is probably a little different than what you’re used to.) It is a white elephant gift exchange, where you draw a number and pick a gift, and then you can steal each others’ gifts. However, the gifts are to be purchased at a go-slow. What’s a go-slow? Good question. A go-slow is when you get stuck in traffic here in Lagos. Vendors go up and down the street between the cars, selling their wares. You can buy pretty much anything if you’re there long enough. I’ve seen books, steering wheel covers, socks, hats, cauliflower, plungers, toilet seats, mirrors, and of course drinks, snacks… it can be quite entertaining. So you’re supposed to buy an item from the go-slow and bring it to the party. Lots of fun!

We had the usual Christmas concerts and tree-lighting ceremony, mixed in with the everyday activities, like after school activities (Laryssa is doing hip hop dance, fencing, karate and gymnastics!), birthday parties, kids over after school and on weekends, and oh yeah, the ever-favorite report card writing! We culminated our festivities last night with a Christmas party at our house. We haven’t had one since Korea, so we were due. It seemed a success, and everyone appeared to have a good time.

IMG_0241

This is where I found my husband this morning, fast asleep!

IMG_0275

So now to go and wake him up, so I can get on with the packing. Christmas vacation, here we come!

Leave a comment